Satisfy Snack Cravings with a Simple Recipe

Orange basil water satisfies cravings

Orange basil water satisfies cravings

I don’t know about you, but when late afternoon hits, I start to crave snacks.  Am I hungry?  No.  I’m usually just bored.  One technique I’ve used to diminish the craving is to walk around my office and talk to a few other bored friends.  We usually hit the snack wall at the same time.  But another technique is to keep flavored water on hand.

Healthy Flavored Water

There are commercial brands of flavored water available for purchase.  These often contain empty calories.  A better option, and a cheaper alternative, is to make your own flavored water.  My favorite flavor is orange/basil.

It’s easiest to make a pitcher in the morning so it is available all day long.  To make orange basil water, simply fill a pitcher with water and add 5-6 basil leaves and about five orange slices.  Let it sit for 2 hours and voila!  This interesting combination is particularly good if you get cravings for salty or savory food in the afternoon.

Do you have other ideas for flavored water?  Add a comment below and tell me about it. Or chime in on the Healthy Weight Loss Facebook page. I love to hear from readers!

One thought on “Satisfy Snack Cravings with a Simple Recipe

Leave a Reply

